FoNNaP Board members


After our first board meeting we posed for this photograph for the benefit of those of you who don’t know us.

 

Irina Wandera (Admin), David Sorimpan, Enoch Mobisa, Dino Martins (Deputy Chair), David Matiku (Treasurer), Paula Kahumbu (Chair) and Peter Greste (Jo Kinnear missing)

 

 

Paula Kahumbu (Chair) – I’ve been interested in conservation since I was tiny, but it was high school field trips and expeditions that influenced me most. I did my undergrad at Bristol in UK,  and my MSc in Wildlife and Forestry sciences at Florida University. My research involved living in the forests of the Tana Primate Reserve to study the rare primates found only there. I love monkeys and in 1997 I started the Colobus Trust in Diani to halt the road crossing dangers for the endangered Angolan colobus monkey by building monkey bridges over the highway. Then I studied elephants in Shimba Hills for my PhD at Princeton University. Elephants got me interested in ivory trade (banning it) and I campaigned for Kenya at CITES (the Convention for International Trade in Endangered Species) to keep ivory off the international markets. I also ran the quarry rehabilitation company Lafarge Eco Systems in Mombasa and now run WildlifeDirect, a web based platform for conservationists across Africa to tell their stories, and raise awareness and funds for conservation. In 2005 I co-authored with my husband, Peter Greste, a children’s book on a true story about a hippopotamus and a tortoise called Owen and Mzee. I currently run the Kenya Land Conservation Trust and I’m thrilled that the FoNNaP members elected me to chair the organization. There’s huge amounts of work to be done and I look forward to working with this great team, and all of you too.

*********************************************************************

 

Dino "duduman" Martins

 

Dino Martins  (Deputy Chair) I am a Kenyan naturalist, artist and writer. My first love is insects, – I study how insects influence both human life and the way the world works. Insects might be tiny, but they play a big role in keeping the planet healthy and happy. In fact, I believe that they rule the world. My interests include conservation and sustainable development and I’m particularly interested in grassroots initiatives towards sustainable human enterprise that support both human life and livelihoods and natural areas. I have worked on the biology and conservation of pollinators in a number of rural communities in Eastern Africa and this has been featured on the BBC and WildlifeDirect as well as in the Smithsonian Institution.

Here in Kenya I twice won the Peter Jenkins Award for Environmental Journalism, for my natural history writing. I’m also the recipient of the Ashford Fellowship in the Natural Sciences and the Derek Bok teaching Award from Harvard University and in 2009 I received a Whitley Award for his work on pollinator conservation, presented by HRH Princess Anne in London at the Royal Geographic Society.

I’m delighted to have been elected Deputy Chair and I hopes to bring to FONNAP a big-picture perspective on biodiversity conservation and highlight diversity and importance of the ‘dudus’ and other little creatures of the Nairobi National Park. The complexity and diversity of the natural world are an endless source of intrigue and inspiration to me. I am deeply interested in the relationships between insects and plants including symbiotic mutualisms. Ant-plant systems, such as those of the whilstling thorn (Acacia drepanolobium), form extensive habitats in Eastern Africa and associated with these are a number of the tiny lycaenid butterflies. I hope to unravel some of the complex interactions between plants, ants and butterflies in East Africa as part of my PhD research. Pollination ecology is a long-standing interest of mine and I have worked on the pollination of the African violet (Saintpaulia teitensis), a critically endangered species, as well as other members of the Gesneriaceae. I have also studied the pollination of Acacia tortilis, an important dryland tree/shrub in Africa and Papaya (Carica papaya) for FAO. For my Master’s I investigated the evolutionary patterns and ecology of hawkmoth pollination systems in Kenya including the pollination of long-spurred orchids by long-tongued hawkmoths – an incredible co-evolved and yet asymmetrical mutualism. I’m currently doing my PhD at Harvard University.

************************

 

David Matiku - Treasurer of FoNNaP

 

David Matiku (Treasurer) – information about me coming soon.

**********************

 

 

Enoch Mobisa when not being very wild (see below)

 

Enoch Mobisa – I completed my undergrad at Egerton University then worked as Research assistant and agronomist consultant. But I wanted to do conservation so I moved to Papua New Guinea as a Project manager in  resource conservation and Community development with WWF. It was wild! I have been consulting with various organizations working on community conservation in Rwanda and Kenya and have travelled all over Eastern Africa sharing my skills and helping to build local conservation organizations. I have just completed his MSc at Exeter University in UK and I am now working on several projects including addressing the problem of pesticide poisoning of predators, in particular lions in Kenya, and community conservation in Turkana. I’m looking forward to working with FoNNaP members and the local communities around the Nairobi Park who are all vital to the survival of this, the Worlds Greatest City Park.

 

Going wild in Papua New Guinea

 

**********************

 

David Sorimpan

 

David Sorimpan – I am a member of a family who have been living in the Kitengela area for generations. This is an important part of the Nairobi Parks wildlife dispersal area and we host many wildlife species throughout the year including lions. To keep the wildlife dispersal area open, we have created the 10,000 ha Olerai Conservancy. I am currently studying at the Kenya Wildlife Service Training Institute in Naivasha. As a board member I hope to help build FoNNaP into a great organization that brings together the residents of the city and the inhabitants of the dispersal area to work together to save this great park.

***********************

 

Jo Kinnear - building my house

 

Jo Kinnear – I was born in Scotland, but I now live on the southern edge of Nairobi National Park.  Most of my working life has been spent as a researcher and programme coordinator with international non-governmental organizations (INGOs) in Africa – in Liberia, Sierra Leone, Ivory Coast, Sudan, Kenya; also in Kosovo in the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia in the 10 months leading up to the NATO bombing. As a result of this experience, mostly in conflict zones, I have developed skills in diplomacy, proposal and budget preparation, research, analysis, capacity building. I hold a BSc in Marine Chemistry, MSc in Environmental Technology, MPhil in Social Anthropology. I look forward to putting some of this experience to good use whilst on the Board. I enjoy walking on beaches and in other wilderness locations, writing, weaving, reading.

********************

Peter Greste –I am currently one of the BBC’s East Africa Correspondents based in Nairobi. After leaving my home in Australia in 1991, I worked across Central Asia, the Middle East and Latin America before moving to Kenya in 2004. Since then I have covered the continent from Sudan to South Africa, focussing much of my energy on environmental stories. Among the projects I’ve been involved with, I have produced a documentary on the environmental consequences of Gilgel Gibe III Hydroelectricity Dam on the Omo River in Ethiopia, covered the risks to mountain gorillas in eastern Democratic Republic of Congo; the destruction of the Mau Forest and the impact of the last drought on the nation’s elephant population. All told, my work on the continent has given me a love of its people and its wild places. I and my wife Paula Kahumbu (yep – the FoNNaP chair) live in a wonderful house overlooking the Nairobi National Park, deepening our love of the place, and our commitment to making sure it survives – and thrives – for generations of people to enjoy it as we do.

****************************

 

Irina Katherina Wandera

 

I am the administrative assistant at FoNNaP and The Wildlife Foundation where I’ve worked for over a year now. I started off as an intern at the same office in 2008 and has been a member of FoNNaP since then. I studied Environmental Science ( Bsc.) at Kenyatta University and my interests include writing and volunteering in community based initiatives geared towards sustainable livelihoods. When not in the office I work with fellow young professionals at the Rotaract Club of Nairobi Central carrying out different community service and professional development activities including cleaning up Nairobi National Park. I am always at the FoNNaP office to register your membership and answer any questions.

3 responses to “FoNNaP Board members

  1. what agood bord of FoNNaP the members of the bord have graet ideas ,lets partner together to conserve the nairobi national park ,

Leave a Reply

